10 beautiful songs by Mint Condition besides “Pretty brown eyes”

AriX
6 min readNov 28, 2020
Photo credits: © 2005 Courtesy of Caged Bird Records

When you ask anyone about the band Mint Condition, the first thing they’re probably going to blurt out is “Pre — tty brown eyes”. Despite the name of the song actually being “Breakin’ my heart (Pretty brown eyes)”, that’s all they’ll remember! If not “Breakin’ my heart”, then they’ll probably recall the mellow piano intro from “What kind of man would I be”. They may even think of “U send me swingin’” or “Someone to loveif they know a little something.

While these are outstanding love songs by the band, there are some listeners who have a very narrow view of Mint’s amazing catalog outside of PBE and other stand-out records. Mint Condition is a band with a catalog that extends to 9 studio albums including a live album as well. Beyond the classics of “Pretty brown eyes” and “What kind of man would I be”, here are 10 otherworldly Mint Condition songs to get into if you haven't already.

1. So Fine

Mint barley gives you a warning on this one, but they come out swinging with their guitar intro. If I could describe “So Fine”, I would say it’s a musical build-up. Beginning as a calm declaration of attraction, quickly…

--

--

AriX

A music and design junkie writing deeply for myself.